Bancroft Prize Winner: Freedom Bound by Christopher Tomlins


Christopher Tomlins has published two other books with the Press, The State and the Unions and Law, Labor and Ideology in the Early American Republic, and is the coeditor of The Cambridge History of Law in America and a contributor to The Cambridge Economic History of the United States. He is also the editor of the Press series Cambridge Historical Studies in American Law and Society and the coeditor of the New Histories of American Law series.

The Bancroft Prize is awarded each year by Columbia University to the most distinguished new books in American history and is considered to be among the most prestigious awards in the field. Freedom Bound joins five other Cambridge titles that have received this honor; they are:

The Global Cold War by Odd Arne Westad (2007)

The Refiner’s Fire by John Brooke (1995)

Making a New Deal by Lisabeth Cohen (1991)

Cradle of the Middle Class by Mary Ryan (1982)

Slave Population and Economy in Jamaica, 1807-1834 by B.W. Higman (1977)

Enjoyed reading this article? Share it today:

Latest Comments

Have your say!